onehundredpercentmusic Ltd

100% Music

Hoodoo Gurus - Purity Of Essence


 Hoodoo Gurus - Purity Of Essence

  • "A rousingly diverse set - sleek, hook-filled melodies; propulsive rhythms; heart on sleeve lyrics; terrific singing." - Rock's Back Pages
  • "Bravo - possibly the four-piece's finest" - Rave Magazine
  • "Expertly created" - Blogcritics
  • "Hooks and refrains that leap out of the speakers" - M
  • "Yet another jewel in the Gurus' crown" - Rock And Roll Report

The mighty Hoodoo Gurus are back in the game with their 9th - and best album - 'Purity Of Essence'.

With Top 10 hits in America - a reputation as a formidable live experience - and inducted in to the Australian Hall of Fame - Hoodoo Gurus reaffirm their position as the finest songwriting band of the last 2 decades.

Purity Of Essence is a monster 16 track album release - featuring the Australian hit singles - 'Crackin Up' and 'I Hope You're Happy' - and 100% Music are delighted to be behind it in the UK and Ireland.


01. Crackin' Up
02. A Few Home Truths
03. Are You Sleeping ?
04. Burnt Orange
05. I Hope You're Happy
06. Ashamed Of Me
07. What's In It For Me ?
08. Over Nothing

09. You've Got Another Thing Coming
10. Only In America
11. Somebody, Take Me Home
12. Let Me In
13. Evening Shade
14. Why So Sad ?
15. 1968
16. The Stars Look Down

OHPM 009

You can have a listen to one of the tunes on the album in entirety - What's In It For Me ? - via the link in the track listing above.

Digital - the album is available right now via iTunes.

CD album - 16 tracks with a 16 page full colour booklet - the layout and design of which is exclusive to the UK - is available in the store from 27th September.

National record stores - Amazon, HMV and Play are all stocking the album.

Local record stores - 100% Music are proud to support independent retailers. This album is available throughout the UK at the following - pop in and have a look around.


Opening up the new album - Crackin' Up sees the Gurus back in fine form - the video can be watched here -

For those of you already familiar with the Hoodoo Gurus, 100% Music have put together a 10 track video playlist - picking one song from each of their albums and adding in the fabulous 'Gene Hackman' which appeared on a compilation.

It is best to enjoy the playlist using the link above - however if you would prefer to remain on this site - 7 of the 10 can be enjoyed below.



Hoodoo Gurus - o2 Shepherds Bush Empire

The band play o2 Shepherds Bush Empire on Sunday 3rd October.

Support is from :

The Morlocks and
The Kits

Tickets are available from :

or by calling :

0845 413 4444


Dave Faulkner - Vocals, Guitar, Piano, Hammond.
Brad Shepherd - Guitars, Backing Vocals, Lead Vocals on 09.
Rick Grossman - Bass, Backing Vocals.
Mark Kingsmill - Drums, Percussion, Backing Vocals.

Hoodoo Gurus can be found on Facebook, MySpace and at their website.

© 2007-2010 onehundredpercentmusic Ltd